top of page
  • Scribed by Abi

'Don't cry over spilt milk'


My good old diary has, again, provided a little bit of inspiration for this week's Journal. It's 'Don't cry over spilt milk' day on Sunday and it's got me thinking...

Also this week...some tips on language development with the little one and an extract from my guest blog over at www.likedbybecky.com.

Enjoy!

 

'Don't cry over spilt milk'

We've all felt it; that sudden drop in your stomach as you remember some awful/embarrassing/upsetting/want the ground to swallow you up moment from your past. It might come in the middle of the night, creep up on you when you're driving, or maybe it ruins your peaceful relaxation in the bath.

I would love to think that I'm an exception to this, but I have plenty of things that I wish had never happened, or things I've said that I would give anything to take back. But, until I get my Hogwarts letter, I ain't never getting my hands on a time turner!

Planning out my week, I saw that it's 'Don't cry over spilt milk' day this Sunday; a strange old English phrase that was first seen, according to phrases.org.uk, in a James Howell listing of proverbs in 1659.

Is it that easy? Could we really stop those pit of the stomach plummets by just simply not crying over that spilt milk? Can you just choose to banish those regrets to the little box in the lock up of our memories and throw away the key?

Should we???

As mortifying as our past is, or as filled with things we wish we could change, would we be who we are now without these experiences? I was thinking about this while watching my son play yesterday. I'm sure every parent out there wants to protect their child; from themselves as well as other things. But if I, knowing what I know now, try to stop him from doing things he will regret, things that will embarrass him or make him sad, will he grow into who he is supposed to be?

So...'Don't cry over spilt milk'.

I always thought it meant not worrying about things we can't change; things from the past or things coming that we can't control. But, perhaps it's better to read it as 'don't sweat the small stuff', rather than as an excuse to box up the negative.

Maybe it's more a way of sorting out what you can deal with and what you can't. Helping us be healthier people by sorting out the big and little things that make up our lives; what's worth thought and what's not. And, as a parent, it's my job to teach my son how to do that too.

I know though, that I'm not very good at this! It's not easy to let things go or cast out worry, but it is a choice. I have to choose to either let the small stuff build up or wash off. A choice to let negative situations bury deep and cause pain and stress or to not cry over that spilt milk!

My aim for 2018?

Experience it. Sort it. Learn from it.

 

*Lovely Language*

Children start to develop their language skills from a very young age. Babycenter.com suggest that you may hear 'mama' or 'dada' as early as 6 months old!

Singing and sound games are some of the best ways you can help your little one get started with their first words but the benefits don't just help the tiny ones. Making rhythm, rhyme and sound play part of your every day fun will help your older child be ready for reading and writing too!

Here, you will find a short list of some great songs and games to begin with. Just Google the titles and you will find the lyrics, and in some cases a video too. Even though your baby might be too small for some of the songs right now, they will still love to hear them and watching you as you move teaches them too.

Action songs: Finger Rhymes:

Row Row your Boat Incy Wincy Spider

Hokey Pokey 2 Little Dickey Birds

Heads, Shoulders, Knees and Toes Tommy Thumb

Ring a Ring O' Roses Here is the Beehive

This is the Way the Lady Rides I have 10 Fingers

Boom Chicka Boom Here is the Church

I'm a Dingle Dangle Scarecrow There was a Little Turtle

I'm a Little Tea Pot Round and Round the Garden

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear This Little Piggy

The Farmer in the Dell

The Wheels on the Bus Sound Games:

Oma Rapeti Doggy Doggy Where's Your Bone

Miss Polly had a Dolly Wake up Mr Bear

Pat-a-Cake

If You're Happy and You Know it

Number Songs:

5 Little Ducks

5 Speckled Frogs

5 Little Men in a Flying Saucer

5 Little Monkeys

Creating an obstacle course is another amazing activity for language development. As with these rhymes, it also encourages their motor skills alongside problem solving and spatial awareness!

Let them help you design the course and as you play, make sure you use lots of language. For example:

over, under, through, along, on top, beside, jump, crawl, slide, bounce, climb, backwards, forwards, side, right, left, in, out, next, first

This activity is also great for developing their risk assessment and management skills!

 

A few weeks ago, I was lucky enough to be the Guest Blogger over at 'Liked By Becky'!

This is an amazing site; featuring a whole host of beautiful products made right here, in Aotearoa!

Check out the extract below and head over to www.likedbybecky.com to read the rest.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

Was it fame and fortune you dreamt of? Maybe you were going to be a hero; fight fires or stop the bad guys? Perhaps you spent hours staring out into space, hoping to get there one day? My younger sister wanted to be a frog. Clearly, the girl had ambition! I remember wanting to be a doctor at one point, but then I realised I just wanted to be in Holby City. Next, it was a lawyer, but (and I sense a pattern here) I was obsessed with Robert Downey Jr. on Ally McBeal!

As we grow up, we realise that somethings just aren’t going to happen for us. To huge disappointment, you find out that you can’t become a frog. You don’t have the eyesight to fly for the RNZAF; or you have a fear of buttons (it’s called koumpounophobia, honestly), so you can’t be a costume designer for Lord of the Ring and stalk Orlando Bloom!

So you’ve found out that being grown-up sucks and you start thinking about what you can be. By now though you are older and other people could be starting to influence you. Talk of University, getting a ‘sensible job’ or having to start earning quickly, all determine which side of the river-fork you paddle down. On the other hand, you could be one of those lucky people who stick to their guns, know their mind and follow their dreams.

Click here to keep reading at LikedByBecky.com

 

Thanks for reading this week!

As always, would love your feedback and any suggestions for further blog articles.

Click here to get in touch!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page