top of page
  • Scribed by Abi

Lessons I've learnt

Welcome to this week's Journal!

Lots of things are changing in our home with our son growing up and it's got me thinking about the lessons that life throws at us this week.

I wonder what has been your most important life lesson?

Also in this entry, potato printing, a reminder why reading is so important in our ever busy lives and a link to join our new Scribed community; The Secret Book Club!

Enjoy!

 

There are things in life that you just have to find out by yourself.

There are things in life that no-one else can do for you.

There are things in life that you have no control over, even though you wish you did.

...Life's lessons.

How many times have we heard, 'Oh, I wish I could tell my younger self that!'? In some cases we knew it when we were younger but we didn't actually believe it, or even listen. Is it life-changing events that make us sit up and listen to the universe or is it to do with the unstoppable marching on of time? At some point do we all come to realise these things? What if we don't?

I honestly believe that every lesson life has taught me revolves around one thing...attitude.

There are things in life that no-one can do for you, and that is one of them. No-one else can change it.

There are things in life that you can't control, even though you want to. Your attitude determines how you cope with the ups and downs.

There are things in life you just have to find out by yourself. Your attitude shows how you learn these lessons and how to deal with the consequences; good or bad.

I sat down to write today and I had no idea what I was going to say. Not something that often happens to me! I opened my diary and saw that on my son's birthday, it's also 'everything you do it right day'. Never a truer thing was written. Having my son was the best thing I've ever done and in my eyes, he can do no wrong. Sure, the 'terrible twos' have more than made their presence felt but still he is perfect.

That isn't to say that everything is easy or that I live in a blissful bubble of happiness. There have been some very hard lessons to learn and new ones coming along all the time.

In true, clichéd 'X-Factor' style, I've learnt so much on this journey; not just about myself, but my husband too. I also feel like I understand a lot more about my own mum now too; something which has been on my mind lately with Mother's Day happening back in the UK.

It has only been recently though, with life throwing some tough things at us, that I've really started paying attention to the Life Lessons. Thinking about what I want to pass onto my son. What I want him to see in me and what that tells him about the world.

There does seem to be a shift in our mindset, a more collective consciousness about the world. That can only be a good thing, right? The #metoo and #timesup movements, the societal unity against gun-crime and communities rallying to support each other through financial and environmental catastrophes are all, hopefully, showing the next generations that the Life Lessons and your attitude to them is a pivotal thing.

It's an easy thing to say...it's just about your attitude! Harder to actually do something about. Even the most positive person is not going to have the perfect, well balanced responses to all that life can throw at you.

It would be lovely to find something that said, 'hey, do this and it's all going to be ok.' How much easier would that be?

Until the magic answer comes along, we just have to do the best we can with the lessons that life offers us.

Give ourselves time to adjust our attitudes, allow ourselves space to do it and not punish ourselves for not quite understanding yet what it is we are being shown.

Looking for new ways to rest your mind, think on the Life Lessons and explore your attitude? Make sure you check out Scribed by Abi's guest post appearing over at Liked by Becky on March 22nd!

 

* colours everywhere *

Potato Printing!

Who hasn't ever tried this one?

Super simple and all you need is potatoes, cookies cutters/knife paint and something to print on!

Amazing for hand-eye-coordination, gross and fine motor control, imagination, creativity and also (if you can manage to keep the paint separate) colour matching.

Depending on the shapes you use, you can also include letter, shape and number recognition.

Think outside the box too...encouraging them to print onto their body parts (or even using them) will help them learn spatial awareness, encourage that coordination and their motor skills further and, obviously, get them naming the parts too.

 

* read your way to

better mental health *

According to a study done in the UK in 2009, reading a good book can lower your stress levels by 68%! It has a more positive effect and quicker results than going for a walk or even having a cup of tea! Reading is one of the best things for many reasons, and just six minutes is apparently enough to boost your happy hormones!

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/health/news/5070874/Reading-can-help-reduce-stress.html

Where better to find your new read than at our Secret Book Club?

Make sure you check in next Monday to scope out the new Recommended reads.

Don't forget to spread the word as our competition closes soon and you won't want to miss your chance to win one of Whitcoulls Top 100 books!

Click here to join and leave your email address to be entered into the competition.

 

Thanks for stopping by again this week!

As always, drop an email to pass on your feedback, comments, questions and suggestions.

I'd love to know what kind of content you'd like to see in upcoming Journal entries!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page